The film did manage to get ‘Under My Skin’ and onto my nerves.

Under The Skin is a film about a mysterious woman (Johansson) who seduces lonely men in Scotland, eventually leading her to begin a process of self-discovery.

First off the bat, I would like to say that I enjoy off beat films that don’t particularly have the “hollywood glamour” attached. I’m a fan of European Cinema and enjoyed attending my fair share of Eastern film festivals. I’m from a country where we make movies from the limited sources we have to fund and create our films.

Under The Skin unfortunately falls into a category of films to left of centre and too strange for me to attempt to gain any enjoyable experience from.

I saw this film on the recommendation of a friend and I regret every second of it. It’s possible one of the strangest films of the year. What I fail to understand is how such a film could garner such critical reception.

After watching the film and reading up some reviews on what others may have felt, I do have to agree that it was a “haunting viewing experience.” Haunting in the fact that it will be sticking in my mind for a good while post-viewing, despite how disturbing and uncomfortable it made me feel.

I’m glad I didn’t go and see this film at the cinemas because I’m not sure how long I would’ve lasted. At least in my post-cinema watching, I was able to pause the film and take breaks from its strangeness. At times, it was almost so painful that I coludn’t even watch it. This is why I was happy I waited so I could skip through certain scenes, especially when Johansson’s character preyed on her “victims” or when one of her “victims” burst like a ballon.

The film is slow, uneventful, and almost dull. It just felt like continuous scenes showing various unconnected sexual encounters the audience could hardly connect with.

All in all, the film did manage to get Under My Skin and onto my nerves.

Film-O-Meter: 2/10.

Leave a Reply

