whatisthatfilm’s Oscars 2017 predictions.


Best Picture

  • Arrival.
  • Fences.
  • Hacksaw Ridge.
  • Hell or High Water.
  • Hidden Figures.
  • La La Land.
  • Lion.
  • Manchester by the Sea.
  • Moonlight.
Best Director
  • Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
  • Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge
  • Damien Chazelle – La La Land
  • Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
  • Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Best Original Screenplay

  • Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water.
  • Damien Chazelle – La La Land.
  • Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Fillippou – The Lobster.
  • Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea.
  • Mike Mills – 20th Century Women.

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Eric Heisserer – Arrival from Story of Your Life by Ted Chiang.
  • August Wilson – Fences from Fences by August Wilson (posthumous nomination).
  • Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi – Hidden Figures from Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly.
  • Luke Davies – Lion from A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley and Larry Buttrose.
  • Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney – Moonlight from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney.

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler.
  • Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge as Desmond T. Doss.
  • Ryan Gosling – La La Land as Sebastian Wilder.
  • Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic as Ben Cash.
  • Denzel Washington – Fences was Troy Maxson.

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Isabelle Huppert – Elle as Michele Leblanc.
  • Ruth Negga – Loving as Mildred Loving.
  • Natalie Portman – Jackie as Jackie Kennedy.
  • Emma Stone – La La Land as Mia Dolan.
  • Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins as Florence Foster Jenkins.

Best Animated Feature Film

  • Kubo and the Two Strings.
  • Moana.
  • My Life as a Zucchini.
  • The Red Turtle.
  • Zootopia.

Best Animated Short Film

  • Blind Vaysha – Theodore Ushev
  • Borrowed Time – Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj
  • Pear Cider and Cigarettes – Robert Valley and Cara Speller
  • Pearl – Patrick Osborne
  • Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Best Live Action Short Film

  • Ennemis Interieurs – Sélim Azzazi
  • La Femme et le TGV – Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff
  • Silent Nights – Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson
  • Sing – Kristóf Deák and Anna Udvardy
  • Timecode – Juanjo Giménez

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish – Martin Zandvliet.
  • A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Sweedish – Hannes Holm.
  • The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Asghar Farhadi.
  • Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal – Martin Butler and Bentley Dean.
  • Toni Erdmann (Germany) in German – Maren Ade.
Best Documentary – Feature
  • 13th – Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick, and Howard Barish
  • Fire at Sea – Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo
  • I Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety, and Hébert Peck
  • Life, Animated – Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman
  • O.J.: Made in America – Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow
Best Documentary – Short Subject
  • 4.1 Miles – Daphne Matziaraki
  • Extremis – Dan Krauss
  • Joe’s Violin – Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen
  • Watani: My Homeland – Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis
  • The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara
Best Cinematography
  • Arrival – Bradford Young
  • La La Land – Linus Sandgren
  • Lion – Greig Fraser
  • Moonlight – James Laxton
  • Silence – Rodrigo Prieto
Best Production Design
  • Arrival – Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock
  • Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh
  • La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco and David Wasco
  • Passengers – Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena
Best Costume Design
  • Allied – Joanna Johnston
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood
  • Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
  • Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
  • La La Land – Mary Zophres
Best Makeup and Hairstyling
  • A Man Called Ove – Eva von Bahr and Love Larson
  • Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo
  • Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini, and Christopher Nelson
Best Film Editing
  • Arrival – Joe Walker
  • Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
  • Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts
  • La La Land – Tom Cross
  • Moonlight – Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon
Best Original Score
  • Jackie – Mica Levi.
  • La La Land – Justin Hurwitz.
  • Lion – Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka.
  • Moonlight – Nicholas Britell.
  • Passengers – Thomas Newman.
Best Original Song
  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls – Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, and Karl Johan Schuster (Shellback).
  • “City of Stars” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.
  • “How Far I’ll Go” from Moana – Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda.
  • “The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story – Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting.
Best Sound Editing
  • Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare.
  • Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli.
  • La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan.
  • Sully – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman.
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright.
Best Sound Mixing
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush, and Mac Ruth.
  • Arrival – Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye.
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, and Peter Grace.
  • La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee, and Steve A. Morrow.
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson.
Best Visual Effects
  • Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammeck, Jason Snell, Jason Billington, and Burt Dalton.
  • Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli, and Paul Corbould.
  • The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Dan Lemmon.
  • Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean, and Brad Schiff.
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel, and Neil Corbould.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s