A graphic investigation into the world of MMA.

hurt_business.jpg

The Hurt Business is a documentary which examines the rise of mixed martial arts fighting through the eyes of today’s top stars.

I just missed out on seeing this documentary at the cinemas and I was kicking myself for it because as fan of UFC, especially of the women’s competition, I was ready and willing to pay money to see this film at the cinemas. Thankfully, I managed to find a physical copy of it a the store and it’s definitely something I’m going to be adding to DVD shelf.

This documentary can be very graphic at times with broken bones and bleeding faces shown in every detail. It doesn’t hold back, very much like the sport. If blood and violence isn’t something that particularly appeals to you, this won’t be a documentary for you.

What this documentary does is attempt to gain a glimpse at world that has so increasingly popular over the last ten or so years and it does a successful job at that. I’m not the biggest fan and I don’t follow it religiously but it doesn’t mean that I show an avid interest in the sport. I don’t think I would ever go to a match, considering the extreme prices for a ticket a main deterrent, though the preparation and mentality behind each fighter is commendable. The injuries that fighters also suffer is insane and the five or so years they spend as fighters hardly seems worth the years and years of preparation as many can’t find a job post-fighting.

It’s worth the watch if you even have the slightest interest in MMA, or even boxing. I know some may be deterred at the fact The Hurt Business is a documentary and there’s a lot out there that aren’t that great but this should at least be somewhere on your list.

Film-O-Metre: 7/10.

Leave a Reply

