If you’re a fan of fart humour, this is the film for you.


Swiss Army Man
tells the story of a hopeless man stranded on a deserted island befriends a dead body and together they go on a surreal journey to get home.

I’m sorry (though not really) but what the fuck is this film? For a long time, I only knew of this film as the film where Daniel Radcliffe played the farty corpse. You don’t have to have watched the film to have heard the reviews coming from it – a film you would to love, love to hate, or just plain flat out confused you with what to feel about it. I’m definitely in the last category. I didn’t know what to feel and hardly found any deeper meaning in it like many others I heard found in it.

The trailer weirded me out but still, at the same time, a strange part of me wanted to see the film and boy was it an experience. There was no deeper meaning but I’m not sure if I was even the right market for this. Even so, I sat there throughout the film utterly and totally confused. Apart from the serene-ness of the location and landscape, it seemed like a total waste of time. Paul Dano and Daniel Radcliffe seemed like they did what the could with the nature of the film and they can be commended on that.

This film wasn’t funny but wasn’t so bad that it was a disappointed. I did my best to go in with an open mind but I found it hard to disagree with a lot of the confused reviews I heard. I tried my best to find some sort of revelation at the end of it but came up unceremoniously short.

If you’re a fan of the fart humour, go for it. If not, give it a miss. It’s honestly not worth the effort.

Film-O-Meter: ?/10

Leave a Reply

